the following in order to register your vehicle in New Mexico:
- your certificate of title;
- your current certificate of registration;
- proof of your New Mexico residential address,
- vehicle ID inspection certificate signed by a full-time law
enforcement officer if you cannot drive the vehicle to Rapid MVD.
If you can drive the vehicle legally to Rapid MVD, a VIN inspector
will perform the vehicle ID inspection for a fee.
- proof of insurance including policy number and insurance carrier
name You must have a liability policy (or surety bond or cash
deposit) with a minimum of $60,000 in coverage: $25,000 coverage
for bodily injury to or death of 1 person, $50,000 coverage for
bodily injury to or death of 2 or more persons, and $10,000 for
property damage in any one accident.
In addition to the above, residents of the Albuquerque metropolitan
area (Bernalillo County and parts of adjacent counties) must provide
proof that the vehicle has passed an emissions inspection test.
These tests are available throughout the county at certified "Air
Care" stations. For more information about emissions testing,
contact the Vehicle Pollution Management Division, 1500 Broadway
NE, Albuquerque, NM 87102; (505) 247-2273. The above list of required
documentation applies to the individual who is titling and registering
a vehicle already titled in his or her name in another state.
The registration fee for passenger vehicles is based on the weight
and year model of the vehicle. Registration fees range from $35.00
to $86.00 for a one (1) year registration or $70.00 to $172.00 for
a two (2) year registration. Registration fees for trucks with a
DGVW (Declared Gross Vehicle Weight) of 26,000 pounds or less are
also based on the weight and model year of the vehicle. Registration
fees range from $45.00 to $130.00 for a one (1) year registration
or $80.00 to $260.00 for a two (2) year registration for regular
trucks with a DGVW of 10,000 or less. Permanent registration is
available for utility and travel trailers weighing under 6,000 pounds.
If your vehicle is out-of-state and an emission test is required
for New Mexico registration, you must complete the required "Out
of State Waiver " and complete all required MVD documents and
submit all documents to Albuquerque/Bernalillo County Vehicle Pollution
Management Program. They approve the waiver and forward your registration
payment and forms to MVD. You must submit your waiver form prior
to the 10th of the month to allow for processing time.
Title transfer and vehicle registration
In New Mexico
Certificate of title must be presented for title transfer. No alterations
or erasers will be allowed. If a change has been made (correction,
etc.), an Affidavit of Correction will be required to be filled
out by the seller, no exceptions. All assignments must be sequential
and in order by assignment by owners/dealers. A dealers invoice
is required at all times when registering a vehicle sold by a dealer.
Proof of address for the registration and title is required on all
transfers made on vehicles. Excise tax of 3% is charged on 80% value
of NADA on all title transfers per the rules & regulations of
the State of New Mexico. If the transfer is due to a gift, an Affidavit
of Gift may be completed by both the offeror and the recipient and
must be notorized and no excise tax will be charged. If both offeror
and recipient come to Rapid MVD, then a notary will notorize document
for a fee. A service fee will be charged for each transaction.